Gilead


Gilead, written by Marilynne Robinson
2007 Book club selection - Winner of Pulitzer Prize (Fiction)
Type: Historical fiction, 256 pages, trade paperback
Readers guide: Yes
Recommend for book club: Yes

Synopsis:

Twenty-four years after her first novel, Housekeeping, Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson's beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows "even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order" (Slate). In the luminous and unforgettable voice of Congregationalist minister John Ames, Gilead reveals the human condition and the often unbearable beauty of an ordinary life.

1 comment

Latest Instagrams

© Mari Partyka | Bookworm with a View. Design by Fearne.